Home Top Story HC shocker for election authorities, AIMIM and TRS

HC shocker for election authorities, AIMIM and TRS


The News Bureau

In a jolt to the election authorities, AIMIM and TRS leadership, the High Court at Hyderabad made it clear that the publication of final voters’ lists the Election Commission of India for the constituencies falling under GHMC limits will be subject to further orders.

The December 29 interim order was passed by Justice Challa Kodandaram while dealing with a writ petition filed by BJYM lea


er P Venkata Ramana alleging serious irregularities in the intensive revision of electoral rolls.

The petitioner alleged that untrained and semi-literate people were employed for this important work of intensive revision of voters’ list through outsourced methods and a private agency. He also said in his petition that the ‘Nazari Naksha’ map (showing the boundaries of an area falling under each polling station with GHMC door numbers) is not given.

The petitioner informed the court that gross irregularities have taken place in the intensive revision and preparation of final electoral rolls.It may be recalled a report was published in these columns how the GHMC officials carried out the intensive revision to suit the requirements of AIMIM and ruling TRS.

BJYM state public convener on enumeration, Ponna Venkataramana had told The News that he has documentary evidence to show that


t the IRER was carried out in a partisan manner to benefit the TRS and MIM.

Quoting from circular No.690ElecGHMC2017528, dated October 11, 2017, Venkataramana said that more than 30 percent votes were deleted in 53 polling stations in Musheerabad, 60 polling stations in Amberpet, 78 polling stations in Khairatabad, 120 polling stations in Goshamahal – where BJP has strong voter base.

However, the number of polling stations in which more than 200 votes were enrolled in these constituencies is just one, zero, one and zero respectively, while the new enrollments of more than 200 votes have been done in 29 polling stations in Chandrayangutta, 16 polling stations in Yakutpura and 36 polling stations in Bahadurpura assembly constituencies where MIM has strong base, he said.

Further, the GHMC officials are not disclosing the house numbers where more than 100 voters have been registered under one house number in the TRS and MIM strongholds. For instance, in Malakpet 9,962 voters were registered under 61 houses, while 12,083 voters registered in 64 houses in Charminar, 7,027 voters registered in 42 houses and as many as 17,402 voters are registered in just 90 houses in Yakutpura assembly constituencies. All these constituencies are held by MIM, Venkataramana said.

He claimed that the votes of even those present in the same houses were removed. This has been done at the behest of MIM and TRS leaders. He also alleged that the GHMC authorities are not providing nazari naksha (a map demarcating the houses that come under one polling station) copies because the revision is not being carried out as per nazari naksha.

“If the revision is done as per nazari naksha, bogus votes can be removed. But the GHMC officials are not ready to do that because they are loyal to MIM and TRS leaders only


and not to the people,” he said.

The BJYM leader produced new documents in support of his allegations. Quoting from circular Lr.no.690ElecGHMC2017658, dated August 15, 2017, issued by the district election officer, Venkata Ramana said 1,46,770 errors committed by the enumerators belonging to the private agencies have been detected.

He alleged that these errors are not actually errors but deliberate deletions carried out at the behest of AIMIM and TRS leaders. “I have approached the High Court for justice and I will fight till the culprits are brought to book”, Venkata Ramana said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here